Budget & Tax

Oklahoma senators sign tax-cut pledge

Staff | February 5, 2024

OKLAHOMA CITY (February 5, 2024)—A dozen Oklahoma state senators, who represent a combined one million Oklahomans, have signed a pledge to cut the state income tax this year.

“Oklahoma’s working families are struggling under the burden created by historic rates of inflation caused by Biden administration policies, and our state cannot afford to ignore that reality,” said Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs President Jonathan Small. “For Oklahoma to grow and prosper, we must have a tax system that encourages work and job creation, rather than penalize it. It is welcome news that so many members of the Oklahoma Senate will fight for that cause.”

The tax-cut pledge states, “I pledge to my constituents that, throughout 2024, I will support and work for passage of legislation that makes a permanent reduction in Oklahoma’s individual income tax rate—so long as the reduction would not occur during a state revenue failure, and so long as the legislation does not also include any offsetting tax or fee increases that would result in a net tax increase on my constituents.”

So far, 12 members of the Oklahoma Senate have signed that pledge, including state Sens. Micheal Bergstrom, R-Adair; David Bullard, R-Durant; George Burns, R-Pollard; Nathan Dahm, R-Tulsa; Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville; Dusty Deevers, R-Altus; Warren Hamilton, R-McCurtain; Shane Jett, R-Shawnee; Sen. Casey Murdock, R-Felt; Dana Prieto, R-Tulsa; Cody Rogers, R-Tulsa; and Rob Standridge, R-Norman.


Loading Next