About Save Our States

Save Our States is a coalition of people dedicated to preserving constitutional federalism because it helps protect our freedom. Trent England is the project director. For media interviews or speaking requests, please contact Alex Jones (alex@ocpathink.org).

Why Now?

A group called ‘National Popular Vote’ wants states to manipulate the Electoral College almost out of existence using state legislation to create an interstate compact.

If joined by states worth a majority of electoral votes (270), NPV claims to create an interstate compact that would create a direct national election for President. This would eliminate the checks and balances created by the Electoral College and further unravel our system of states.

Who's Behind NPV?

‘National Popular Vote’ is run by Dr. John Koza, the inventor of the scratch-off lottery ticket. In fact, Koza’s first venture into politics was lobbying states to create lotteries. Koza has reinvested some of his fortune into NPV, hiring expensive lobbyists and taking legislators on fancy trips to convince them to accept his new gamble.

Who Cares?

How we elect the president effects the rest of our politics.

The Electoral College creates incentives that favor national campaigns and broad coalitions. Koza's NPV scheme would give more power to fringe candidates, regional movements, and corrupt big city political machines.

The authors of the Constitution understood that the structure of government is more important to human liberty than even having a bill of rights. That's why checks and balances and federalism are built into the original Constitution. One of these structures is the Electoral Colleges. The incentives it creates have moderating, unifying, and stabilizing effects that help the United States to remain a free and prosperous nation.

Save Our States works in states across the country to educate the public and lawmakers about the importance of the Electoral College. It was originally a project of the Freedom Foundation in Olympia, Washington, and is now based at the Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs in Oklahoma City.